A Motey Kind of Moment

Well far out, Man. This is, like, way cool. The Beauregarde Affair has finally hit the printing press, so to speak. Untold years in the making, countless revisions and a plethora of covers, squiggling and squirming, he’s now been brought back to life.

So, Amazon reviews thus far? Here are several:

– ‘I’m not giving anything away, but this novel is as much social commentary as straightforward narrative. In both respects, it is magnificent. I confess to gushing over books I’ve loved and this is one hell of a gusher. ‘Recommended’ doesn’t even come close to what I want to say.’ Jake Barton

– ‘Brilliant, humorous, thoroughly enjoyable read, The Beauregarde Affair is a gem!’ String

– ‘Accomplished and brilliantly paced with plenty of page-turning power, I’ve already recommended The Beauregarde Affair to friends. I dare you to buy it.’ Arrowsmith

Here’s where it all started:

While rooting about in the cellar, searching for some old university notebooks, I came across a cardboard box filled with forgotten papers and journals. Leafing through them I was somewhat surprised to find that they were from the Seventies. I didn’t know if I should read them or burn them as incriminating evidence. That events from that nebulous period of my life were actually committed to paper and had managed to follow me on my many journeys was more than enough to capture my interest. Goodbye notes.

I lugged the box up to the bedroom and began to sort through its stained and faded contents. If the sun had been shining through the window, a cloud of dust motes would surely have been swimming dreamily about the room. However, it wasn’t, so there were none to be seen. Still, it was a motey kind of moment.

Most of the pages featured dark, youthful attempts at poetry and/or the lamentations of unrequited love. There was plenty of that about back then. The deeper I burrowed, the more it became apparent that it was chiefly the muse of despondency who had inspired me way back when. Which, of course, makes sense. Who bothers to write when they’re having a good time?

As I reached the bottom of the stack, a thick loose-leaf notebook surfaced. This had clearly nothing to do with any university. On its mangled, coffee-stained cover was scrawled Atlanta Gas Company 522-1150 RIGHT NOW!!! The handwriting looked desperate; probably an unpaid bill, hinting at threats to shut off the electricity. There had been a bit of that about, too. This looked more interesting. Calamity is known to be entertaining, especially if it’s your own and located backwards time-wise. Leafing through the notebook, it suddenly dawned on me I was holding in my hands a somewhat infamous document; it was The Journal …

… as fate would have it, I turned another page or two and suddenly found myself stumbling into The Beauregarde Affair …’

You want to see for yourself, right? Copasetic; it’s now available on Amazon (US and UK) in paperback and Kindle e-book form, as well as in paperback on Barnes & Noble:

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/sZ0gft

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/tMCqEZ

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/vJuWtL

“The ’60s are gone, dope will never be as cheap, sex never as free, and the rock and roll never as great.” Abbie Hoffman

Leave a Reply

